LPGA Rookie of the Year Hae Ran Lee: “I’m proud of myself…first win means a lot”

“I’m proud of myself,” said Hae-ran Lee, who was crowned the Rookie of the Year for the 2023 season on the Women’s Professional Golf (LPGA) Tour.

Hae-ran finished tied for 12th with a 12-under-par 268 total at the LPGA Tour’s Annika Driven ($3.25 million in prize money), which concluded today (Sept. 13) at Pelican Golf Club (par-70, 6,268 yards) in Bellerive, Florida.

Clinching the Rookie of the Year award regardless of the outcome of the season finale, the CME Group Tour Championship, which begins Saturday, Hae-ran became the first Korean LPGA Tour rookie to win the award in four years after Lee Jeong in 2019.

“The LPGA Tour Rookie of the Year is something that every rookie wants to win, and there are a lot of famous players who have won it, so I’m very proud of myself,” Hae-ran said in her post-match interview.

“It means a lot to get my first win in Arkansas,” she said, adding that when she first came to the United States, she started taking English classes at the age of four. 캡틴토토 주소

Born in 2001, Hae-ran won a silver medal with her national team at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta-Palembang and topped the 2019 Korean Ladies Professional Golf Association (KLPGA) Tour’s Jeju Samdasu Masters.

As a rookie on the KLPGA Tour, Hae-ran won back-to-back titles at the 2020 Jeju Samdasu Masters, finishing second on the money list and earning Rookie of the Year honors.

She then moved to the U.S. this year after finishing first in the LPGA Tour’s qualifying tournament last December.

In October, she won the LPGA Tour’s Wal-Mart NW Arkansas Championship in Arkansas, U.S.A., for her first LPGA Tour victory and capped off a stellar debut season by winning the Rookie of the Year award.

Prior to this tournament, Hae-ran had been in top form on the U.S. stage, ranking first in greens in regulation (75.3%) and 15th in money earned ($1.45 million) this season.

The LPGA Tour season individual awards, including Rookie of the Year, are typically presented during the season finale, the CME Group Tour Championship.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *